

New Mexico Boards Association

300 Galisteo Street, Suite 204 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501 Phone: (505) 983-5041 Galine Fax: (505) 983-2450 E-mail: nmsba@nmsba.org website: www.nmsba.org

NEWS RELEASE For Immediate Release: June 13, 2022

Contact: Joe Guillen (505) 983-5041 jguillen@nmsba.org

NMSBA Region Attendance and Student Scholarship Awards Announced at Annual School Law Conference

Approximately 650 school board members and education leaders from across the state attended the New Mexico School Boards Association (NMSBA) 2022 School Law Conference June 2-4, 2022. The conference focused on the latest legal issues facing public education in New Mexico. The conference general and breakouts sessions informed school board members and school administrators on many key issues including school safety, new legislative initiatives, student testing, special education, procurement and employee evaluations to name a few.

Region Attendance Awards

NMSBA took the opportunity at the conference to present the 2021-2022 Region Meeting Attendance Awards to ten outstanding school boards that excelled in attendance and training at the Fall-2021 and Spring-2022 Region School Board Meetings. Award recipients are:

0	Region I	Zuni Board of Education
0	Region II (Tie)	Pecos and Pojoaque Boards of Education
0	Region III	Springer Board of Education
0	Region IV	Belen Boards of Education
0	Region V (Tie)	Dora and Logan Board of Education
0	Region VI	Jal Board of Education
0	Region VII (Tie)	Carrizozo and Cloudcroft Board of Education
0	Region VIII (Tie)	Deming & Silver Board of Education

Photos of each Board receiving their award are available upon request.

Student Scholarship Awards

NMSBA also announced the award of their 2022 Scholarships to twenty-four outstanding high school graduating seniors at the School Law Conference. Each student will receive a \$1,200 scholarship to further their higher education. Nominations were received from New Mexico's boards of education and selections are based on criteria including demonstrated leadership, academic performance, community involvement and extracurricular activities. The 2022 Scholarship Award Recipients are:

<u>Region I</u> Kaden Fuller - Farmington Marcos Resendiz - Gallup Nariah Kallestewa - Zuni

<u>Region II</u> Jose Torrez Jr. - Chama Marissa Abeyta - Espanola Daniel Abeyta - Penasco <u>Region III</u> Shiann Welsdorf - Maxwell Destiny Trujillo - Mora Kira Medina - Raton

<u>Region IV</u> Joshua Gutierrez - Albuquerque Norely Mendoza - Estancia Jia Martin - Grants <u>Region V</u> Gavin Hartman - Elida Lucero Cano - Floyd Kassidy Galassini - Portales

<u>Region VI</u> Ava Fuentes - Carlsbad Hayley Florez - Loving Linda Anderson - Lovington <u>Region VII</u> Leah Elsey - Capitan Violet Ramos - Gadsden Haylee Hill - Tularosa

<u>Region VIII</u> Naomi Kimble - Animas Melanie Jurado - Deming Samantha Jones - Silver

The 2022 NMSBA Scholarship Recipient Flyer is attached and individual recipient photos are available upon request. Also attached is the NMSBA Region Map for easy reference. Scholarship award ceremonies will take place at a local school board meeting in the recipient's district.

For additional information please contact Joe Guillen, NMSBA Executive Director or Lorraine Vigil, NMSBA Programs Director at (505) 983-5041.